:: S I N O B A N K N O T E ::

繁體 简体 English

:: FAQ > Ethnics > Mongolian Nationality ::
China has about 4.8 million Mongolians. Most of them reside in the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. The rest live in other autonomous regions and provinces, including Xinjiang, Qinghai, Gansu, Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Ningxia, Hebei, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Beijing.

Mongol was initially the name of a tribe roaming along the Wangjian River during the Tang Dynasty (618AD - 907AD). In the early part of the thirteenth century, Temujin (Genghis Khan) united Mongol tribe to other tribes and formed a new national community called Mongol.

The Mongolians have their own spoken and written language, which belongs to the Mongolian group of the Altaic language family. Mongolian script was created in the thirteenth century on the basis of the script Huihu or ancient Uighur, which was revised and developed a century later into the form used today.

The largest Mongolian area, the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region, is a vast and rich expanse of land. Covered with wide tracts of excellent natural pastureland, it is one of the largest husbandry bases of China.

Mongolian Nationality appears on the following banknote(s):
RMB P887 1980 10 Yuan

Han (92%)
Zhuang (1.37%)
Manchu (0.87%)
Hui (0.76%)
Miao (0.65%)
Uygur (0.64%)
Yi (0.58%)
Mongolian (0.42%)
Tibetan (0.41%)
Bouyei (0.22%)
Dong (0.22%)
Yao (0.19%)
Korean (0.17%)
Gaoshan (0.03%)

©©© 神州錢鈔 SinoBanknote Write to webmaster ©©©